The School of Biomedicine team is comprised of passionate, highly skilled health professionals, academics, and researchers.

Professor Corinna Van Den Heuvel 

Head of School

Professor Corinna Van Den Heuvel

Professor Corinna Van Den Heuvel is the Head of the School of Biomedicine. She has been with the University for nearly 25 years and over this time has held numerous leadership positions. In addition to her Head of School role she is also the Program Director for the Bachelor of Health and Medical Sciences Program (BHlthMedSc). Corinna is an Education Specialist and is a member of the Adelaide Education Academy. Corinna’s contribution to higher education has been recognised internationally with her appointment in 2018 as a Senior Fellow of Advance HE. She has also been the recipient of numerous teaching and leadership awards including the Executive Dean’s Medal in 2016 and 2020. She was also the recipient of the Stephen Cole the Elder Award for Excellence in Leadership, Support and Enhancement of teaching practice in 2018. Most recently in 2022 she was awarded the University of Adelaide Award for Exceptional Leadership.

She is part of the Translational Neuropathology Laboratory at the UofA and her current research focuses on traumatic brain injury. She also has successful research collaborations with Forensic Science SA and the Centre of Automative Safety Research within the UofA. Her work has been presented both nationally and internationally and published widely in internationally recognised journals and she has received over $1.6 million in category one research funding. She has supervised numerous first class Honours and PhD students to completion and mentored many HDR students and junior academics who are now leading successful academic or research careers both Nationally and Internationally.

Staff Directory profile

School contacts

If you need to contact us, please refer to the following details.