You are here: 
text zoom : S | M | L
Printer Friendly Version
Further Enquiries

Acute Care Medicine
Royal Adelaide Hospital
Level 5
Eleanor Harrald Building
SA 5000

Telephone: +61 8 8222 5422

Acute Care Medicine

The University Discipline of Acute Care Medicine combines all the acute care medicine specialties across CNAHS and WCH and includes all Departments of Anaesthesia, Intensive Care, Pain Medicine, Emergency Medicine and Hyperbaric Medicine. 

This Discipline is concerned with all aspects of perioperative medical care, from preoperative assessment, anaesthesia for surgical procedures, acute and chronic pain management and postoperative care, to advanced life support in intensive care, retrieval medicine and hyperbaric medicine, intensive care medicine, as well as paediatric and obstetric & gynaecological anaesthesia, and emergency medicine.

The Discipline has a presence within the Royal Adelaide, Queen Elizabeth and Women's and Children's Hospitals, Lyell McEwin Health Service and Modbury Public Hospital.

The Head of the University of Adelaide Discipline of Acute Care Medicine is Professor Guy Ludbrook, who is located at the Royal Adelaide Hospital.

Research and teaching to this end occur at undergraduate and postgraduate level in fields such as:

  • Intensive care medicine
  • Perioperative medicine
  • Postoperative pain management
  • Acute and chronic pain
  • Hyperbaric medicine
  • Emergency medicine
  • Obstetric & gynaecological anaesthesia
  • Paediatric anaesthetic
  • Paediatric critical care
  • Paediatric emergency medicine

Latest News

ACM Blog

ACM News Blog

Take a moment to read the latest news from Acute Care Medicine on our ACM blog.

read more


Latest Publications

A list of the latest publications from the Acute Care Medicine Discipline are now available.

read more